gifts: wayang

In May of last year, I went on an acquisitions trip to Southeast Asia. I got a couple of presents while on this trip, including this pair of wayang  (puppet). One of them broke in all my schlepping around after I received them, and I only finally fixed it today. Aren’t they pretty?

Image

Javanese puppets

These were thank you gifts from the library director of the Universitas Negeri Malang (State University of Malang) for my presentation to the library staff and library students ((they had just started a new undergraduate library degree) on the UCLA Library and Southeast Asian librarianship. This was one of three back to back talks I gave at three different university libraries (over two days) in Surabaya and Malang, the two largest cities in the province of East Java.

Leave a Reply

