Hopeless or hopeful?

I’m hopeless. Or maybe I’m just incredibly hopeful.

Contrary to popular belief, librarians do not get paid to sit around and read (I wish that was the case!). Many of us are actually too busy to even have time to read. That is certainly the case for me.

Over the holidays, I checked out quite a few books to read (mostly fat classics), and I didn’t read a single one. Since then, I’ve checked out and even bought a few books. I’m sure I didn’t read most, if not all, of them. I have numerous unread books on my shelves (both at home and at work), and I have piles of books from library conferences from the last five years.

So, when I had to return a couple of conversational Spanish books that I’ve had for about 6 weeks but probably only looked at once, I told myself that I really should not, absolutely must not check out any books. Did I listen? Of course not!

Image

Just before I left for the library, I saw a tweet by Rainbow Rowell, author of Eleanor & Park about this blog post, which pair some YA books with poems. This reminded me of two books I wanted to read: 1) Eleanor & Park (I’ve heard such great things about it lately) and 2) Benjamin Alire Saenz‘s Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, one of the books featured in the post and winner of several book awards. The library didn’t have the first, but it did have the second. So, I told myself I could possibly borrow just the one book. Wishful thinking, right?

Once I got to the library, I couldn’t just get the one book — of course, I started browsing. I looked at the rest of the YA books, then looked at the new adult books. Then I thought of another book I’ve been thinking of reading: Jane Eyre. I don’t know how I haven’t read this classic, especially since I was an English major in college, but I haven’t (unless I’ve just forgotten?). Part of the reason I’ve been thinking of reading it is because there is a new web series based on it that I’m considering watching, but I don’t want to watch it without having read the book. So, I got this book.

While looking for Charlotte Bronte, I passed by Alan Bradley‘s Flavia de Luce books — they stood out because they were such short (in height) books compared to the ones next to it. I ended up getting the first in the series, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.

Will I actually end up reading these books? Probably not. My guess is I’ll probably only read one, if any, and that will probably be Aristotle and Dante.

So why do I borrow these books if I know I won’t end up reading them? If you’re a book lover, you understand. It’s not that I know for sure that I won’t end up reading them, though I do kind of know that I don’t exactly have the time. It’s more that I’m hoping I’ll have the time to read them or am somehow able to make the time. One can always hope, right?

2 comments

  1. I just renewed a library book, The Death of Bees, yesterday, and started it last night, because I usually am hoarding several unread library books every week. (I also work at a library!)

    1. I swore I would at least start reading one of the books last night, but I didn’t. Instead, I ended up getting sucked in on social media and writing this post. Maybe tonight…

Leave a Reply

